PLACER COUNTY

LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION

COMMISSIONERS: February 15, 2023

Trinity Burruss Chair (City)

Cindy Gustafson **Announcement of Recruitment for Public Member and Alternate** Vice Chair (County) **Public Member**

Joshua Alpine (Special District)

Shanti Landon The Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) of Placer County (County) is recruiting for a Public Member and Alternate Public Member to Tracy Mendonsa serve on the LAFCO Commission.

(City)

Susan Rohan (Public)

Rick Stephens (Special District) To be eligible to serve as a Public Member or Alternate Public Member, a person must be a resident of Placer County. They may not be an officer or employee of the County, a city in Placer County, or a special district with territory in Placer County.

ALTERNATE COMMISSIONERS: The term of office for the Public Member and Alternate Public Member begins May 2023 and expires May 2027.

Jim Holmes (County)

William Kahrl (Special District)

Jenny Knisley

(City)

Jeffrey Starsky (Public)

The Commission meets the second Wednesday at 4:00 PM every month in the County Board of Supervisors' Chambers.

The deadline to submit an application is **Friday**, **March 31**, **2023**.

Please contact Michelle McIntyre, LAFCO Executive Officer, at (530) 889-4014 or mmcintyre@placer.ca.gov for more information.

COUNSEL:

Michael Walker General Counsel Please see attached About Placer LAFCO and application.

STAFF:

Michelle McIntyre **Executive Officer**

Amy Engle Commission Clerk

About Placer County Local Agency Formation Commission

Local Agency Formation Commissions (LAFCOs) were established in 1963 and are political subdivisions of the State of California responsible for providing regional growth management services in all 58 counties. LAFCOs are comprised of locally elected and appointed officials with regulatory and planning powers delegated by the Legislature to coordinate and oversee the establishment, expansion, and organization of cities, towns, special districts, and their municipal service areas. Among the purposes of LAFCOs are discouraging urban sprawl, preserving open space and prime agricultural lands, efficiently providing governmental services, and encouraging the orderly formation and development of local agencies based upon local conditions.

LAFCOs' authority is codified under the Cortese-Knox-Hertzberg Local Government Reorganization Act of 2000 ("CKH") with principal oversight provided by the Assembly Committee on Local Government. LAFCO decisions are legislative in nature and therefore are not subject to an outside appeal process. LAFCOs also have broad powers concerning conditioning regulatory and planning approvals without establishing any terms that directly control land uses.

CKH sets out the appointment of the seven members on LAFCO. The Board of Supervisors appoints two representatives and an alternate from its own membership. The Independent Special District Selection committee appoints two representatives and an alternate from among the presiding officers or members of the legislative bodies of the independent special districts in the County. The City Selection Committee appoints two representatives and an alternate from among the mayors or council members of the cities in the County. The other members of the Commission select one representative and an alternate representing the general public.

CKH specifies all commission members shall exercise independent judgment on behalf of the interests of residents, property owners, and the public. Members represent the interests of the public as a whole and not solely the interest of the appointing authority.

Placer LAFCO meets the second Wednesday of every month at 4 p.m. in the County Board of Supervisors' Chambers. Commissioners and alternates are paid a \$150/meeting stipend plus expenses and may attend in person or remotely. Commissioners and alternates are encouraged to attend a 3_day annual conference in the fall (September or October) hosted by the California Association of LAFCOs, CALAFCO. Current Placer LAFCO members are listed below:

Commissioners	Member Type
Trinity Burruss, Chair	City
Cindy Gustafson, Vice-Chair	County
Joshua Alpine	Special District
Shanti Landon	County
Tracy Mendonsa	City
Susan Rohan	Public
Rick Stephens	Special District
Alternate Commissioners	
Jim Holmes	County
William Kahrl	Special District
Jenny Knisley	City
Jeffrey Starsky	Public

LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION

Application for Public Member and Alternate Public Member of the Placer Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO)

Name:	Phone:
Address:	Email:
Current Employer:	Position:
Work Address:	Work Phone:
Application for:Public Member	Alternate Public Member Either Position
1) How long have you lived in	Placer County?
, .	past employment and professional experience? (You may
membership on county, city	civic activities? (Please include any present or past v, or special district boards or committees, and participation anizations.)
,	Commission Meetings in person? Placer LAFCO generally d Wednesday of every month.

5)	Are you available to attend CALAFCO Conferences? CALAFCO Conferences are held
	for 3 days annually generally in September or October.
6)	Are you interested in serving on any committee(s) of the Commission? For example, finance, personnel, legislative and various ad hoc committees? If yes, which committee(s) interest you?
7)	Why do you want to serve on Placer LAFCO? (Please include in your response any qualifications/special interests related to this position that may not have been covered in your previous responses.)
8)	What is your educational background?
9)	Have you attended a Placer LAFCO meeting?
10)How did you become aware of this recruitment?
Signa	ture Date:
Pleas	e return to <u>lafco@placer.ca.gov</u> or Placer LAFCO 110 Maple St. Auburn CA 95603

Please respond no later than <u>March 31, 2023</u>, for your application to be considered.

Thank you for your interest in Placer LAFCO!